2011 Lake Tahoe Concours d’Elegance Saturday Roar Off & Perpetual Trophy Winners


After a couple of intense days of judging and huge crowds at the 39th Annual Lake Tahoe Concours d’Elegance, the Saturday afternoon “Roar Off” is fun for both the spectators and the participants as they get a chance to fire up their boats and go for a ride on Lake Tahoe. The Woody Boater crew was invited to join Chief Judge Terry Fiest and his wife Bobby on board “Thunderchick” so we could see some of the action on the lake and snap a few photos of the boats away from the docks. “Thunderchick” is owned by Tahoe Yacht Club Foundation President Dave Olson.

The traditional “Roar Off” is popular with the spectators who line the entrance to the Sierra Boat Company Marina to watch the antique & classic show boats head out on to Lake Tahoe in the afternoon. Fellow Woody Boater Don Vogt from Mercer Island, Washington (in the red shirt) was front and center to chear us on as we left the marina aboard “Thunderchick”.

Once we were safely away from the marina Terry Fiest got the Twin 502 Chevrolet powered “Thunderchick” up on plane for an amazing ride, Matt and his family enjoying the experience and ace photographer Don Ayers sitting on the rear deck with camera in hand, always looking for that “Perfect Shot.”

Here’s Dave Olson in one of his other spectacular wooden boats, T-44 / “Wildhorses” a 1997 33′ Brown & Bassett Gentlemen’s Racer powered by a 650-HP 1930’s V-12 Meteor converted Rolls Royce engine. Dave prefers his boats to have adequate power for the high altitude at Lake Tahoe…

“Bootlegger” is a beautiful 1937 24′ Hacker-Craft Triple Cockpit Runabout owned by Terry & Carol Clapham from Jamestown, California.  This is believed to be one of only three 24 ft Hackers built in 1937, and the only known survivor. 

“Miss Tahoe” is a 1939 28′ Gar Wood 936 Custom Runabout from the Tahoe Maritime Museum in nearby Homewood, California. This is her only outing this year.

Here is a list of Perpetual Trophy Award Winners from this year`s 39th Annual Lake Tahoe Concours, which were presented on Friday night.

The Best Party Boat – Sponsored by Korbel CA Champagnes (Commuters & Cruisers) “Flat Top” 1955 29′ Chris Craft semi-enclosed with 2 175HP 6-Cylinder Chris Craft MCL – Alan Jackson of Brentwood, TN

Marque Best of Show Over 23ft – “Heigh-Ho II” 1941 24’6″ Gar Wood 95 American Utility with a 225HP 6-Cylinder Scripps – Reid Dennis of Woodside, CA

Marque Best of Show and Best Overall Boat of Show – “Jean Ann” 1939 19′ Gar Wood 912 Custom Runabout with a 103HP 6-Cylinder Chrysler – Jonathan & Jean Trevillyan of Acton, CA

Thunderbird Most Unique Boat of Show – “Challenger” 1926 33′ Gar Wood Baby Gar with a 500HP 12-Cylinder Liberty – Daniel Morehead of Woodside, CA

Best Engine of Show – “Liberty” 1932 28′ Gar Wood 28-55 Runabout with a 425HP 12-Cylinder Gar Wood Liberty – The Vento Family of St. Thomas, VI The Vento Family

Pre-War Runabouts Best of Show Under 23ft – “Phantasy II” 1938 19′ Chris Craft Custom Special Race Boat with a 150HP 6-Cylinder Gray Phantom – Kirk & Julie Pumphrey of San Jose, CA

Pre-War Runabouts (23 Feet and Over) Best Non-Professional Restoration – “Mountain Lyon” 1932 28′ Sea Lyon Runabout with a 325HP 12-Cylinder Lycoming UF – Lee & Sandy Chase of Los Gatos, CA

Blonde Deck Chris-Craft Runabouts Best Chris Craft of Show – “Material Girl” 1948 20′ Chris-Craft Custom Runabout with a 158HP 6-Cylinder Chris-Craft MBL – Bryan & Kara Turner of West Sacramento, CA

Best Century of Show – “O Wood I” 1967 21′ Century Coronado with a 365HP 8-Cylinder Chrysler – Ted & Marilouise Brayer of Reno, NV

Riva & International Best Riva of Show – “Ciara” 1970 22.3′ Riva Ariston with a 220HP 8-Cylinder Chevrolet – Dirk Reed of Nevada City, CA

Best Profeesional Restorer – Dick Clarke Perpetual Award – Kelly Bane – Robinson Restoration – Tim and Brian Robinson

Also, on Saturday the People’s Choice Award this year was presented to “Miss De Meanor” a 1945 16′ Roy Converse/Custom owned by Franc Casey from Carnelian Bay, CA. Here he is collecting his award from Terry Fiest.

Congratulations to all the Perpetual Trophy Winners and to the People’s Choice Award Winner this year.

Matt & Texx